The Boundary Commission for England is inviting people to comment during its secondary public consultation on constituency boundaries, which opened today and runs until April 4. 

The Commission is undertaking an independent and impartial review of all constituencies in England, to make the number of electors in each constituency roughly the same.  

The number of constituencies in England will also increase to 543. The 2023 Boundary Review requires substantial changes to the map of constituencies across England, and the Commission wants members of the public to help shape the boundaries in their area by taking part in the consultation. 

The Eastbourne constituency would become known as the Eastbourne Borough Constituency and have some existing areas removed from the current make-up of the constituency including Jevington, Wannock and part of Willingdon. 

People can view the initially proposed constituency boundaries by area and provide views on them by visiting the consultation website at  

Responses can also be sent in by letter, email or provided in person at a public hearing.  

The Commission will hold 32 public hearings across the country throughout the consultation period, allowing people to have their say in person about the proposed changes in their area. 

Book a 10-minute slot to speak at a regional hearing on the Boundary Commission website at  

A video of each hearing will be available to watch on the Boundary Commission for England’s YouTube channel shortly after it has taken place.  

The Commission received over 34,000 responses from the public during its first consultation last year.  

These comments are now available to view by area, along with the initial proposals for constituencies, on the consultation website.  

Tim Bowden, Secretary to the Boundary Commission for England, said: “The 2023 Boundary Review will rebalance the number of electors represented by each MP. It’s important that the constituencies we shape reflect your local community as best as possible.” 

The final recommendations will be submitted to Parliament by July 1, 2023, and the new constituencies will come into effect at the following General Election.